top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedk AKA deekz

Chemo day 3 (Home sweet home)

Quite tired this morning due to having to pee on the hour every hour last night so no solid sleep. Today was just the 1, 2 hour infusion of etoposide. Was all done by 12:30 and ready to be sent home at 13:00.


The chance to come home and actually looking forward to the drive home gave me all the energy I needed. Due to good old Corona I have decided it safest to drive my self to and from the hospital as needed. Given that the roads and far less busy than usual (though not as quiet as they should be) the journey is 40 minutes one way. I have spent the last 10 years driving over 40,000 miles a year so driving is a second nature thing to me by now so I was fairly confident I would be able to manage and none of the nurses/doctors took any issue with the decision.


Was sent home with my meds and unexpectedly a sharps bin as it turns out I will need to give myself an injection each day of something called filgrastim. I believe the intention of the drug is to help the body make the white cells and as such the immune system should not get too compromised. Although I have no issues with other people stabbing as many needles as they like in me I must admit to been a p***y when it come to doing it myself. My dad who is diabetic and does it without flinching will get much entertainment out of it I'm sure. And given our friend corona I definitely like the idea of not becoming too immunosuppressed.


All I can say is so far so good, no major issues and besides a bit of tiredness I'm feeling like my usual self. I am assuming the cycles may get tougher as the cumulative effects start to build up but for now the care of Ambulatory care unit at the St James Leeds cancer centre has been first class. Fingers crossed the next 4 days will be uneventful and the next visit will be Wednesday for a follow up with the docs and a quick burst of Bleomycin.


All been well the docs will tell me the cancer has started running for the hills and we are kicking its arse. <--- The UK spelling lol

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Results are in

Hi all since the last update I have attended and had a CT scan performed and then a follow up with the doctor to discuss the results. The Doctor said the cancer is in remission and there are no signs

Chemo Complete, recovery and results ahead

Quick update. Last Wednesday's bleomycin session went well no issues and PICC line removed which was nice and painless. Been relaxing since mostly a cycle of sleeping and eating, wouldn't call it f

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page